Skip to main content

Reinstall the infrastructure management console in a dedicated environment

OutSystems

Reinstall the infrastructure management console in a dedicated environment

This article describes how to remove the infrastructure management console (LifeTime) from a shared environment and installing it in a new dedicated environment.

 

reinstall-lifetime-1.png

This operation applies only to on-premises installations.

Prerequisites

To reinstall LifeTime in a new dedicated environment the following requirements must be met:

  • Have an on-premises installation.
  • Have an available licensing slot to register the new Lifetime dedicated environment.
  • The new LifeTime dedicated environment must have the same Platform Server version as the installed in the original shared environment.
  • The operation is performed by a user with the built-in Administrator role in Service Center.
  • All the environments registered in the original LifeTime (eg. Development, Test, Production) are synchronized and no synchronization is on-going.
  • The original LifeTime environment must have no LifeTime plugins installed, otherwise, you might not be able to remove LifeTime’s applications.

Remarks

  • Reinstalling Lifetime in a different environment keeps all application data in the environments controlled by LifeTime (eg. Development, Test, Production).
  • The following LifeTime specific data will be lost:
    • LifeTime Analytics data / Performance Monitor
    • Application tagging history
    • Change log
  • During the whole LifeTime reinstall operation, guarantee that no one executes the following actions:
    • Stage applications using LifeTime.
    • Any operation within User Management (Users, Teams, Roles, Authentication Mode, Service Accounts).
  • You will need to manually configure the following information in the new LifeTime dedicated environment:
    • Users Roles and Teams.
    • Authentication Mode and Service Accounts, if used. 
  • The migration of any LifeTime plugin you might have is not in the scope of this operation. Make sure to backup and remove any LifeTime plugin from the original LifeTime environment before you start this operation. You can install your LifeTime plugins again after LifeTime reinstall operation is completed.

Reinstall LifeTime in a Dedicated Environment

Step 1. Prepare a new dedicated environment for LifeTime

  1. Follow the installation checklist to install a new environment with LifeTime. Use the same Platform Server version than the original LifeTime environment.
  2. Get a license file for the new LifeTime dedicated environment and apply the license in the new environment.

Step 2. Save original LifeTime configurations

  1. Go to the original LifeTime, http://<original-lifetime-environment>/lifetime.
  2. Login as Administrator.
  3. Write down all your User Management configurations - it will be needed later to replicate the same structure in the new Lifetime dedicated environment:
    1. Users, Roles and Teams
    2. Authentication Mode
    3. Service Accounts

Tip: You can use LifeTime Services API to retrieve Users, Roles and Teams from the original LifeTime environment, making easier for you the task of writing down the needed information. Check BackupLTPermissions component in OutSystems Forge as an example on how to retrieve these data from LifeTime. 

Step 3. Disable LifeTime from the original environment

  1. Go to the INFRASTRUCTURE tab and choose Manage Environments.
  2. For all registered environments, choose Edit and select Unregister environment. After unregistering all environments, you will see the following screen:

    reinstall-lifetime-2.png
     
  3. Go to the Service Center console of the original LifeTime environment and log in as Administrator, http://<original-lifetime-environment>/ServiceCenter.
  4. Go to the Factory section and choose LifeTimePerformanceMonitor application from the Applications list.
  5. Disable LifeTimePerformanceMonitor application.

    reinstall-lifetime-3.png
     
  6. From the Applications list, choose LifeTime application and Disable it.
  7. From the Applications list, choose LifeTimeSDK application and Disable it.

Step 4. Configure new LifeTime dedicated environment

  1. Go to the new LifeTime dedicated environment, http://<new-lifetime-environment>/lifetime.
  2. Login as Administrator.
  3. Go to the USER MANAGEMENT area and create the Roles you had in the original LifeTime environment, configuring the corresponding permissions.
     
    Tip: If you used LifeTime Services API to retrieve the Roles from the original LifeTime environment, use the retrieved data to create the Roles in the new dedicated environment. Check BackupLTPermissions component in OutSystems Forge as an example on how to retrieve data from LifeTime.
  4. Go to the INFRASTRUCTURE area to register your environments. The environments must be registered in LifeTime by the same order they are used in the factory workflow. For example, you should register Development, Test, and Production environments by this order. This ensures that all other environments catch up the application definition from the Development environment and that the synchronization between LifeTime and the environments is correctly performed. 
     
  5. Fill in the Environment Address in the corresponding environment card and click the Register button.

    reinstall-lifetime-4.png
     
  6. Map the permissions of each LifeTime Role to the environment being registered and click Next.

    reinstall-lifetime-5.png
     
  7. Set the corresponding Role for each existing user to import and click Next.

    reinstall-lifetime-6.png
     
  8. By this time, the environment starts synchronizing. Wait for the synchronization to finish before proceeding.
  9. Register all the remaining environments by repeating steps 5 to 8 for each environment.
  10. Now that all the environments are registered, configure your Teams and specific application Roles as you had in the original LifeTime environment.
  11. Configure the Authentication Mode setting and Service Accounts as you had in the original LifeTime environment.

Step 5. Delete LifeTime’s applications from the original environment

If the original LifeTime environment version is lower than Platform Server 10.0.804.0, you will not be able to delete LifeTime’s applications. In this case, skip the steps below, leaving the applications disabled.  

If the original LifeTime environment version is Platform Server 10.0.804.0 or upper, do the following to delete LifeTime’s applications:

  1. Go to the Service Center console of the original LifeTime environment and log in as Administrator, http://<original-lifetime-environment>/ServiceCenter.
  2. Go to the Factory section and choose LifeTimePerformanceMonitor application from the Applications list.
  3. Delete LifeTimePerformanceMonitor application.

    reinstall-lifetime-7.png
     
  4. From the Applications list, choose LifeTime application and Delete it. 
  5. From the Applications list, choose LifeTimeSDK application and Delete it.

LifeTime is now reinstalled in a dedicated environment.