Skip to main content

 

Managing the Applications Lifecycle

 

OutSystems

Use Roles to Configure Permissions

In OutSystems, a role is a set of permissions that define which operations a user can perform over the environments and applications.

By default, OutSystems has two roles that allow you to implement a simple security policy:

  • Developer - By default, this role allows deploying to the Development environment, open applications on Quality Assurance, and list applications on Production. You can change the permissions of the Developer role according to your case.

  • Administrator - Has full control over all environments and applications. Allows deploying applications to all environments of the infrastructure and manage IT users, security, and environments. You can’t change the permissions of the Administrator role.

If the two default roles are not enough to set up your security policies, you can create additional roles to define a more granular policy.

Create a new role

To create a new role, do the following:

  1. In your LifeTime console (https://<lifetime_env>/lifetime), go to the USER MANAGEMENT area.

  2. Choose ROLES and click the New Role link.

  3. Fill the Role Name.

  4. Define the permissions that the new role will have over each environment:

    • Move the slider to choose the permission level over the environment and applications.

    • Set the toggle to define the specific permissions for the environment’s applications.

    • Set the toggle to define the Infrastructure permissions.

  5. Click the SAVE button to create the role.

When you change the permissions of an existing role, LifeTime will propagate those changes asynchronously to the registered environments.

Assign the role to users

You can assign roles to users in three different ways:

Check the permission model for IT users to better understand how the different roles assigned to a user define the user’s permissions over the environments and the applications.

Set the user default role

You set the Default Role of a user when creating the user:

At any time, you can change the user’s default role in the user’s details page:

  1. In the USER MANAGEMENT area, choose USERS.

  2. Find the user you want to change from the list of users and click the user’s Name to go to the details page.

  3. Click the Edit link to edit the user’s details.

  4. Set the Default Role and click the Save button to save the changes.

Assign the role to a user in a team

You specify the role of users in a team when you add the users to the team:

To change the role of a user in the team, change the user’s role directly in the team’s screen:

The change will be immediately saved.

Assign a role to a user for a specific application

To assign a role to a user for a specific application, do the following:

  1. In the USER MANAGEMENT area, choose USERS.

  2. Find the user you want from the list of users and click the user’s Name to go to the details page.

  3. Click the Grant Role in Applications link.

  4. Choose the Role and the applications you want the user to have that role.

  5. Click the Grant Role in Applications button.

To change the role that a user has over a specific application, change the role directly in the user’s screen. The change will be immediately saved:

To revoke the role that a user has over a specific application, click the remove icon for that application in the user’s screen:

  • Was this article helpful?