Skip to main content

Developing an Application

 

OutSystems

Compare and merge example with conflicts

In this example you are trying to publish the module, but a window Modified version detected shows up. It seems that you and your fellow developer edited the module at the same time. You select Merge and publish to try the automatic merge, but there are conflicting changes in the local version of the module and the version on the server. An automatic integration of changes is not possible, and you are presented with the Compare and Merge window:

After analyzing the Compare and Merge window, you see that:

  • You both edited the preparation screen and the CSS on the "Homepage" screen. You need to resolve the conflicting changes.
  • The other developer added the screen "About". There are no conflicts to resolve there.

These could be the steps to resolve the conflicts.

  1. Double-click the element Style Sheet (merged with conflicts). The Compare and Merge - Style Sheet opens. The number in the tab Merged version (1 conflict) indicates the number of conflicts.

  2. Select which part of the CSS code goes into the resulting local module that you will publish at the end of the merge. Click the arrow icon next to the text to replace color: green; with color: red;. Merged version (1 conflict) changes to Merged version (0 conflicts). You can also edit the code by typing in the Merged version pane.

  3. Click Done and back in the lower left corner to return to the Compare and Merge section.

  4. Double-click Preparation to open the Compare and Merge - Preparation window. You can see that the Section assign element has conflicting values.

  5. Click on the value viewer to open Compare and Merge - Value window. The value viewer button is labeled by the three dots (...).

  6. Click the check box in the Merged version (1 conflict) pane to select the value from your version of the module. Merged version (1 conflict) changes to Merged version (0 conflicts).

  7. Click Done and back in the lower left corner to return to the Compare and Merge - Preparation section.

  8. Finally, click Back in the lower right corner to return to the main Compare and Merge window. If there are no conflicts (no elements highlighted red), you can continue to the next step to publish the module.

  9. Click Merge and publish to update the local version of the module and publish it. If you want to update the local module, continue working on it and publish later - at this step you should click Merge.

  • Was this article helpful?